Taekwondo Poomsae (Patterns)

Taekwondo Poomsae (Patterns)

There are five components that form the Taekwondo syllabus. These are as follows:

Fundamentals (kibon tallyon)

Self defence (hoshin)

Sport sparring (shihap kyorugi)

Breaking (kyokpa)

Patterns (poomsae)

Patterns are practiced in order to ingrain basic movements and combinations. They allow the practitioner to develop many aspects of Taekwondo such as speed, fluidity, co-ordination, strength, power, concentration and proper breathing.

The Taegeuk series consists of eight patterns. Below you will find a link to a video that can help you to practice each one.

1: Taegeuk il Jang

2: Taegeuk Ee Jang

3: Taegeuk Sam Jang

4: Taegeuk Sa Jang

5: Taegeuk Oh Jang

6: Taegeuk Yuk Jang

7: Taegeuk Chil Jang

8: Taegeuk Pal Jang